Everything is a Remix – Remixing in my music video

‘Everything is a Remix’ is a theory created by Kirby Ferguson stating that media products are a ‘remix’ ( a combination or edit of existing material to create something new) of existing material and that there is no such thing as originality as creation requires influence from existing media products. This is typically seen in songs, music videos and films.

Just like the theory states, “Creation requires influence”, this can be seen in my music video and it is clear to see that I have been heavily inspired by preexisting media products and music videos. Porter Robinson has been very influential to the creation of my music video and it is clear to see that I have picked up on the effects and style of his music video, recreated them and in turn made my music video what is considered to be a ‘remix’.

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 15.26.13

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 12.42.57

A similar ‘digital effect’ to the one featured in Porter Robinson’s music videos can be seen in my music video. I have created an edit of existing material in order to create something new, my music video. Remixing is considered to be postmodern and it could be suggested that I have created a postmodern media product.

Leave a Reply

